A black and gold rectangular background with a black feather laying horizontally has the following text: 2021 Southern Miss Institutional Repository Conference. April 29 and 30, 2021 at the University of Southern Mississippi.

SMIRC 2020 Schedule
(All times listed are CDT)

Thursday, April 23

2:00 p.m.        Welcome 
                       Dr. Amy Chasteen, Executive Vice Provost for Academic Affairs

2:10 p.m.        Keynote: "Repositories: Essential Infrastructure and Digital Imaginaries"
                       Holly Mercer, University of Tennessee-Knoxville

3:30 p.m.        Panel: Common Ground? A Discussion on the Future of IRs
                       Dr. Sam Bruton, University of Southern Mississippi
                       Michelle Emanuel, University of Mississippi
                       Dr. Matthew Griffis, University of Southern Mississippi
                       Brian Hole, Ubiquity Press
                       Shandon Quinn, Digital Commons
                       Kayla Siddell, Xavier University of Louisiana

4:30 p.m.        Posters & Lightning Talks

                       "The Power of Personal Outreach to Populate an Institutional Repository"
                       Patricia Hartman, Auburn University

                       "Acting on Lessons Learned: Improved Tracking for Long-term Scanning Projects"
                       G.W. Swicord, University of Florida

                       "Advancing Hyku"
                       Brian Hole, Ubiquity Press

                       "Digitizing Materials for Institutional Repositories"
                       Joshua Vaughan, University of Southern Mississippi

Friday, April 24

9:00 a.m.        Concurrent Session 1

                       "Supporting Research with a Research Repository: The View from the Dean's Office" (Track A)
                       Ken Herold, Adelphi University
                       Jessica Clemons, Ex Libris

                       "OERs in the IR? Why and Best Practices" (Track B)
                       Mary Ann Jones, Mississippi State University

10:00 a.m.      Concurrent Session 2

                       "Open and Expansive IR with Islandora 8" (Track A)
                       Stephen Perkins, discoverygarden

                       "Automating Batch Processes for Institutional Repositories" (Track B)
                       Elizabeth La Beaud, University of Southern Mississippi

11:00 a.m.      Concurrent Session 3

                       "Digital Commons: Supporting you on the Front Lines" (Track A)
                       Shandon Quinn, Digital Commons
                       Ann Connolly, Digital Commons

                       "The Birth of LDbase: Lessons Learned from Designing a Discipline-Specific Data Repository" (Track B)
                       Bryan Brown, Florida State University

12:00 p.m.      Lunch Break

1:00 p.m.        Concurrent Session 4

                       "DSpace 7: Coming Soon to a DSpace Near You" (Track A)
                       Heather Greer Klein, LYRASIS

                       "Countering the Firehose Effect: Migrating Large Archival Collections to Digital Commons" (Track B)
                       Michelle Emanuel, University of Mississippi

2:00 p.m.        Concurrent Session 5

                       "Three Years Out: What I Know Now that I Wish I Knew Then" (Track B)
                       Kayla Reed, LSU Law Library

3:00 p.m.        Short Concurrent Session 1

                       "IR Wisdom Across Four States" (Track A)
                       Jade Kastel, Johnson & Wales University

                       "So You Want to Share Your Data? Collaborative Policy Writing for the UMass Amherst Data Repository" (Track B)
                       Erin Jerome, University of Massachusetts Amherst

3:30 p.m.        Short Concurrent Session 2

                       "IR Default MODS Form: Enabling Scholars to Comprehensively Describe Their Works" (Track A)
                       Scott Jordan, University of Louisiana at Lafayette

                       "Developing Metadata Guidelines for the IR" (Track B)
                       Jennie Vance, University of Southern Mississippi

4:00 p.m.        Closing Remarks/Dismiss